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CDL License Information provided by NJMVC
Requirements:
a. There are different CDL classes that apply to different commercial vehicles. To operate a school vehicle, you need to obtain a minimum of a class C Commercial Driver License and meet the following requirements:
· Be at least 21 years old, and have 3 years driving experience
· Have a basic New Jersey driver license
· Have at least 20/40 vision in each eye (with or without corrective lenses)
· Have 70 degrees of peripheral vision in each eye
· Be able to recognize red, green and amber colors
· Be morally fit*
· Be physically fit**
b. Criminal History background checks will be obtained through fingerprint scanning process via the NJDOE Office of Student Protection.
c. Federal law requires commercial drivers to carry a medical examiner's fitness statement at all times and renew it every two years. 

How to get a CDL:
a. Visit your local MVC Agency to get a CDL Manual
b. Pass 6-point ID
c. Pay $125 permit fee
d. Apply for endorsements
e. Pass the CDL knowledge and road tests

Getting an endorsement provided by NJMVC
All New Jersey school bus drivers, regardless if they are employed by DOE or not, must get both P (Passenger) and S (School bus) endorsements.

Passenger (P) endorsement:

a. Drivers who wish to drive a vehicle having a design capacity to carry 16 or more people, including the driver, must add a passenger endorsement to their CDL/CLP. They must pass a 


special knowledge examination on safety considerations when transporting passengers and must pass skills tests in a passenger vehicle. The endorsement applies to applicants who wish to drive a bus in any class (A, B, or C).

Passenger (P) endorsement requirements: 
a. You must be at least 21 years old and meet the following requirements:
· 20/40 vision in each eye (with or without corrective lenses)
· 70-degree peripheral vision in each eye
· Be able to recognize red, green and amber colors
· Be physically fit; submit a copy of a completed federal Medical Examiner's Certificate [pdf] and a copy of a Medical Examiner's Certificate every two years or as indicated by your physician
· Pass a background check and fingerprint requirements; follow procedures for S endorsement
· Complete a declaration form to select DOE, Non-DOE or public transportation of school-age children

School Bus (S) endorsement: 
a. Drivers who wish to drive a school bus, must add a school bus endorsement to their CDL/CLP. They must pass a special knowledge examination on safety considerations when transporting passengers in a school bus and must pass skills tests in a school bus. The endorsement applies to applicants who wish to drive a school bus in any class (A, B, or C).

School Bus (S) endorsement requirements: 
a. A commercial license school bus S endorsement is required for drivers transporting school-age children. Endorsement applicants are subject to background checks to drive a commercial vehicle to and from:
· School or school-related activity
· Preschool center or nursery school
· Day care or seasonal residence camp
· Child care center
b. To be eligible for a S endorsement, drivers operating under the jurisdiction of the Department of Education (DOE) must pass a state and federal background check (N.J.S.A. 18A:39-19.1):
· Fingerprint forms are available from your employer or by download from DOE
· Schedule an appointment with the state fingerprint vendor IdentoGo


· Submit a copy of the DOE Criminal History Review Unit Blue Seal Approval letter issued no more than 90 days prior to S endorsement application


Additional requirements for DOE drivers:
a. To renew a license, DOE drivers must:
· Pass a background check; you may begin the Archive Submission Process as early as 90 days prior to the expiration of your "S" endorsement to ensure you will have the results of your criminal history check and Approval Letter prior to your expiration date.
· DOE disqualification will result in suspension of your school bus endorsement. A clearance letter from DOE is required for restoration.
· Upon renewal of your S endorsement, submit a copy of the DOE Criminal History Review Unit Blue Seal Approval letter issued no more than 90 days prior to license expiration.

School Bus (S) endorsement – Non-DOE drivers: 
a. Non-DOE school bus drivers - including day care and summer camp drivers - are not under the jurisdiction of the Department of Education. To be eligible for an endorsement, drivers must pass a state background check (N.J.S.A. 39: 3-10.1):
· Download fingerprint form for Non-DOE drivers
· Schedule an appointment with the state fingerprint vendor, IdentoGo
· Submit a copy of the MorphoTrak application and receipt as proof of background check
· Submit a copy of a current letter from your employer confirming that you are employed as a school bus driver or that you are transporting school children to a day care or summer camp; letter must be presented both at initial licensing and renewal

Endorsement Renewals:
a. If you change employment for a passenger-carrying commercial vehicle from commercial transit operator to school bus or from DOE to Non-DOE school bus operator or vice versa, you may need to be re-fingerprinted under the appropriate statute. Please check your CDL Manual or call the Bus Application Unit at (609) 292-7500, ext. 5039, 8:30 a.m. – 4 p.m., Monday through Friday.




Suspension Information provided by NJMVC
Avoiding Suspension
a. MVC reserves the right to deny or suspend a driver’s P or S endorsement due to information found in medical, criminal or driver history records. The following are possible reasons an endorsement may be disqualified or suspended:
· Driver History review reveals
1. Accumulation of 12 or more motor vehicle violation points
2. Operating a motor vehicle while under the influence of alcohol or drugs
· Criminal History background check reveals arrests and/or convictions for
1. Deviant or illicit social behavior
2. Any crime indicative of bad moral character
3. Use or threat of bodily force
· Physical Examination Form reveals medical/physical conditions such as 
1. Diabetic condition
2. Serious heart condition
3. Medical condition that could cause the loss of consciousness
4. Failure to meet vision standards

Inspections information provided by NJMVC
New Jersey has one of the most rigorous inspection processes in the country. In fact, MVC School Bus Inspection Unit works with Governors School Bus Task Force to inspect over 78,000 buses twice a year at over 1,300 terminals throughout the state.
The inspection is a 150-point process that checks over 180 items during each on-site inspection. This includes everything from the door buzzer to the catalytic converter in addition to driver employment records. View a sample inspection checklist.
This meticulous inspection ensures that New Jersey school buses remain in top condition. Upon the first inspection, an average of 40% of vehicles don’t pass the initial test and are given out-of-service stickers while 30% are issued 30-day rejection stickers. However, once the bus owners make the repairs and the School Bus Inspection Unit re-inspects the vehicles, an average of 91% are approved for use.
Any vehicle used to transport children to or from a school-related activity must meet these inspection requirements.



In addition to the semi-annual inspections, the New Jersey School Bus Task Force also performs monthly, unannounced inspections.

Inspection Stickers:
a. You can check the current status of a school bus by looking for a sticker on the lower left corner of the windshield. There are four different stickers that indicate the school bus’s safety:
· Approval–valid for six months with expiration date is printed in the center
· 30-day rejection–the vehicle can still transport passengers but has 30 days to repair the parts in violation
· Out-of-service–the vehicle cannot transport passengers until service repairs have been completed. Another full inspection is required after 30 days
· Summer camp–used in addition to the approval sticker to allow a vehicle to transport children to summer camp activities from May 15 to September 15
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School Bus Driver and Aide Training for Interacting with Students with Special Needs provided by the NJDOE Office of Student Transportation

In accordance with NJSA 18A:39-19.2, the New Jersey Department of Education has developed a training program for school bus drivers and school bus aides on appropriate procedures for interacting with students with special needs. Employers of school bus drivers and bus aides in New Jersey are required to ensure the drivers/aides view this training video on proper procedures for interacting with students with special needs.



a. Do not stop the video at the end of the course. A box will appear momentarily on your screen, to which you may add your name, date of birth, employer and district or contractor code before obtaining your certificate of completion.
b. Have that information available prior to beginning the video training module, as you will be required to add it to the Certificate of Completion.
c. Click on video to play. Click on video again to pause. Double click to view in full screen mode.
d. If viewing in full screen mode, press Esc when the video ends to exit and receive your certificate.
e. The module is approximately 28 minutes long.
f. The Certificate of Completion is accessible after viewing the module.
g. If you require closed captions click on the "cc" at the bottom of the video.
https://www.nj.gov/education/finance/transportation/training/dis/ 
https://www.nj.gov/education/finance/transportation/training/dis/faq.shtml
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